Suddenly Chinese.

by

A British woman has supposedly suffered a severe migraine which has resulted in her developing a sudden…Chinese accent. Completely losing her English – and very distinctive western drawl, she has somehow developed the very distinctive ‘twang’ which is very distinctively Chinese.

 “I spoke to my stepdaughter on the phone from hospital and she didn’t recognise who I was. She said I sounded Chinese. Since then, I have had my friends hanging up on me because they think I’m a hoax caller.”

 

Doctors believe she may be affected by Foreign Accent Syndrome (FAS) which to me – sounds absolutely ridiculous, but thanks to good old Wiki – apparently this is a known problem. Reportedly (and completely unconfirmed) there have been cases of Americans suddenly speaking like English – and even a Croatian girl who suddenly lost the ability to speak Croatian. I wonder if I get Courtney to bang me over the head tonight, if I can wake up in the morning suddenly fluent in Chinese – sure, it would take away the challenge of getting there, but maybe it’ll open a few doors as well 

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Suddenly Chinese.”

  1. Peter Says:

    Hi,
    These days a lot’s of news from China is about how people care so much about their beauty. They spend a fortune having a plastic surgery and beauty care and also they think it’s another way to get economic power. But in any reason it looks very shallow. I heard there would soon be a plastic surgery beauty contest in China. It make me feel whole Asian culture is based on matierialism and skin. Is it because of western influence, or is it because of a fault in our own culture?

    Thanks
    Peter

    Tenders

  2. Marcus Says:

    Hey Peter,

    I wouldn’t worry too much about it being a cultural fault or what not. I think women being concerned about their own beauty is just simply a female thing – regardless of what culture they come from.

    Personally I really dont like plastic surgery. From a medical point of view, it’s a wonderful thing. I mean being able to re-create a breast for a breast cancer sufferer, or reconstruct a face/feature after an accident – an absolute godsend. But for people who just want to enhance their looks – it’s just unneccessary.

    Yeah there’s for and against arguements, and while I am sure some people have legitimate uses for it, others just go completely overboard.

    I think China has rushed so fast into world awareness, that it’s literally absorbing as much western culture as it can – perhaps too much – where personally I feel it could nurture its own culture first, perhaps simply enhancing it with outside influence, rather than replacing it.

    I think that in the future, China will suddenly reach a point where it recognises the importance and uniqueness of its own culture and will really stop and focus on it… Here’s hoping anyway.

Leave a Reply

