Shanghai World Expo 2010 – worth the wait?

by

Judging by what I have just read over on Shanghai Scrap, no goddamned way!

I can’t say I am much of a fan of World Expo’s, but I do like the thought of travelling some place exotic to visit one. I remember years ago when I was a young teen, everyone used to talk excitedly about all the wonderous things that would be on display in the World Expo held in Brisbane Australia. I recall things such as indoor snow, a working chairlift through certain European pavillions, and even a completely man-made beach, were high on the ‘must see’ lists.

The Shanghai expo however-Ā  it just doesn’t appeal. While some of the buildings look weird and wonderful, the photos of the ridiculously massive lines just make me feel dead on the inside. What’s worse, while these 100,000 (of the expected 600,000 at peak) people are patiently waiting..they’re getting rained on!

What can possibly be inside those pavillions to make that titanic wait worthwhile? If you ask me – nothing. I’d rather visit any particular country, rather than seeing a moving version of travel brochure which effectively tells nothing about the country itself.
I suppose for the Chinese – particularly those who have never been out of the country (and likely never will get out) it’s a huge event. But for the jaded foreigner who can not look past the queues….pass.

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Shanghai World Expo 2010 – worth the wait?”

  1. Eric Says:

    hey,Marcus
    Long time no see you! How are you?
    I would love to visit Shanghai World Expo although maybe I have no time to do that! I’m happy to see your article about it!
    see more later!
    Eric

  2. Marcus Says:

    Hey Eric,

    I’m not so sold on the expo myself. I honestly cant fathom what could be inside those buildings that could warrant such a massive queue beforehand šŸ™‚

  3. Anna Says:

    Yo, my family went to Expo 88 and I remember it being awesome, although I was 9 years old… I even skied on the manmade slope and I hated it, I guess nothing is like the real stuff even when you are 9.
    We will be in Shanghai while this is on…. *ponders*

  4. Marcus Says:

    Heh that’s cool actually. I was thinking about it the other day, and was trying to remember what the ‘snow’ element was. I remember there was a chairlift through one of the pavillions, but forgot about the actual ski slope. I guess it seems kinda meh these days compared to the likes of the indoor slopes in Dubai etc.

    By the way I was reading that going to Expo at night seems to be the key of actually seeing it minus the heat+insane queues.

  5. Fred Says:

    i know wat u mean, dude! i stayed in shanghai for a couple of months myself. just wrote a post on my experience šŸ™‚
    didnt visit the expo though cause i just didnt see the point of standing in ridiculously long queues just to visit 3-4 pavilions…

  6. Marcus Says:

    I’ll check out your write-up. Shanghai is an awesome city huh?

Leave a Reply

