Here we go again!

by

If there’s one thing that’s been easy for me lately, it’s neglecting my poor blog. One moment I’m all over it and then the next; in what feels like the blink of an eye, months have passed without an update. Not good!

2010, like so many years before it, came and went in the blink of an eye. 2010 for me was very much the year of the wedding. Having popped the question to my lovely girl in October of 2009, we finally tied the knot in November 2010. Between those points, practically every part of our day to day life felt like it was consumed by the wedding. Whether the physical organisations – to which I admit I played a somewhat minor part 😉 – to the anticipation.  Everything was wedding wedding wedding.

And when we weren’t thinking about wedding, all of our family and friends were. It was the main topic of conversation at birthdays and get-togethers until the point we just couldn’t wait to be done with it.

After what felt like forever, the wedding day did finally arrive, and in true Melbourne fashion it rained heavily all day. Thankfully that affected little, and if anything, only added an extra level of fun to the photos. The photographers always say that the clouded grey lighting only adds to the emotion, but whether that’s true or just a way to sympathise is unknown.

As we approached the wedding day, I was of the mind of simply wanting it to be done with, but on the day itself, I would have happily had it last twice as long as it did. We had a simply amazing day which I enjoyed so much more than I possibly could have guessed. Being surrounded by friends and family in a celebration of ourselves was an absolutely wonderful feeling, and one that will stay with me always.

On the night of the wedding we jetted off to Japan for our honeymoon in what may in hindsight have been not the best of ideas. Japan itself was amazing, but leaving on the night of the wedding? Not so good… We were absolutely dead tired and our flight left at around midnight. Trying to get to sleep on a plane for two people who can’t sleep on planes, was the equivalent of Chinese water torture. While we got there in the end, it was definitely not the most ideal start to our honeymoon!

And Japan…what a great country. I had to keep reminding myself that I was not in China. While there were definitely similarities between the two countries, they were also vastly different. I think simply being overseas again in an Asian dominant environment rekindled memories and feelings which I had not really experienced since. While I live in an Asian dominated town, and on a daily basis still feel in the minority being white, it’s a different feeling again doing it in another country.

In the next few weeks I hope to really write some of the things I experienced in Japan, particularly in regards to how for me it related back to China. I found the differences between Chinese and Japanese culture as interesting as the countries as themselves. And of course, I’ll put up some photos. Until then, sayonara, or is it simply zaijian – who can say anymore.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Here we go again!”

  1. mar de redin Says:

    Good Blog!!!

    Hello from Spain 😀

    http://marderedin.blogspot.com/

  2. Troy Parfitt Says:

    Hi, I was wondering if you’d be interested in receiving a review copy of my book, Why China Will Never Rule the World, in exchange for consideration for review, mention, etc. To learn more about the book, and to read a free excerpt, please visit http://www.troyparfitt.com. Thank you very much. Troy Parfitt

  3. Marcus Says:

    G’day, sure, why not? Sounds like it might be an interesting book, especially considering the good ol Chinese are buying up the world right now, it’s hard to imagine them NOT ruling the World 🙂

Leave a Reply

