Move!

by

If there’s one thing the Chinese absolutely excel at, it’s dawdling – or more accurately, the art of walking slowly. I cannot count the number of times I have been frustratingly stuck behind a Chinese family as they spread into a horizontal line before me, stopping me from getting around them. It cracks me up every time this happens to my wife as she gets so ragey. It happens mostly in shopping centres and narrow sidewalks, usually with a mother, father and child. Together, they drift aimlessly along before you, spreading into an impassable line then drifting to the sides as they go, taking interest in everything from shopfronts to rubbish bins. It is infuriating!!

So I couldn’t help but laugh when I came across this video, demonstrating a Japanese solution to dealing with slow walkers. I am seriously considering taping my own version of this in Box Hill – which has to be capital of this particular activity.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

