Behold, pumplings!

by

Busy! That’s this week’s excuse! Four times a year I’m hit with a pretty hefty publication deadline, and yes you guessed it, this is one of those times. As I have been completing my course programming for Summer 2013, I have also been completing my Cert IV in Training & Assessment, while continuing to study Mandarin.

Last night marked my final Chinese class of the year, so the class hit Chinatown to a place called the Red Emperor and got our dumplings on. Funnily enough, since moving into the city, I have felt a bit disconnected. I haven’t had a regular dumpling haunt and it’s phased me a little bit. We’ve tried a number, including an awesome Japanese cafe’ named Yoyogi on Swanston Street, but hey, I miss Ramen King!

I am also fairly certain that the Red Emperor is where we had a farewell dinner with friends and family back before we moved to China. It’s been a few years now, and my perception of Chinese restaurants has changed somewhat. Back then it would have been oooer ahhh a Chinese restaurant in the city! Prestigious! These days it’s just eh, another cheap eatery with passable dumplings. That’s not to say the food there wasn’t good, it was quite hao chi actually.

I ordered a few of our regular dishes, trying to covert my classmates to the cucumber (+soy/garlic/chilli) salad that Courtney and I always order, and the shredded Sichuan style potato dish (+vinegar/chilli etc) which were both hits. Along with a range of dumplings I also came across a dish I don’t believe I had ever eaten before – but it was one of those dishes that has you saying, how the HELL did I not know about these?

These were pumpkin cakes – or pumpkin dumplings – hell, I don’t know what they’re called. One guy jokingly said they were called Pump Dumps – while his girlfriend called them Pumplings! PUMPLINGS! HAHA I freakin’ love it!

Anyhow, I am not normally a fan of pumpkin, but these PUMPLINGS are bloody delicious! They’re like small, deep fried cakes of puree’ pumpkin, and they’re sweet. They’re actually a dessert, so you wouldn’t go dipping them in your soy or chilli oil or what not. But god, are they delicious. I only managed to get two of them in total, but I swear, had the others not been there, I would have destroyed the entire plate. You can be assured I will be ordering them on a very regular basis.

In other news, I am thoroughly loving living in the city. It is without doubt one of the best decisions we have ever made. But more on that later 🙂

MMmmmm pumplings!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

